May 25, 2015 by


Whilst we only had two standard Monday meetings in the month, Rotary events continue.


Installation of De-fibrillator 3rd May 2015

Shaftesbury has a new public defibrillator, thanks to Rotary! After much delay this was fitted to the side wall of Saxon Photographic with thanks to Eddie Clements (EC Electricals) who installed and connected all of the special wiring. The picture shows past President David Wyn-Mackenzie and current President Mike Farrow. The purchase and donation to the town was part of David’s year 2013/14.

Guest Speaker – Carolyn Cox

The first meeting of the month was hosted by Peter Brown with guest speaker Carolyn Cox. Carolyn was for many years the Matron of Shaftesbury’s Westminster Memorial Hospital. Now semi-retired but still involved with the hospital through her chairing of the Friends of Westminster Hospital.
She gave a very informative talk on the financial achievements of the “Friends” which over many years have raised substantial sums of money.
Footnote: Our incoming President Richard Shean has nominated Friends of Westminster Hospital as one of his charities for the new Rotary year.
New Associate Member Pam Cruickshank The evening was concluded by welcoming our second associate member Pam Cruickshank (pictured) who is the chair of the Shaftesbury Snowdrop organisation.







Rotary President’s DinnHolbrook Houseer

Rotary Presidents night,an excellent dinner and Fellowship evening took place at Holbrook Manor near Wincanton in appreciation of Mike Farrow’s year. All the photos can be seen on our Gallery page.







Annual General Meeting

Annual General Meeting: To confirm the Officers for the coming Rotary year July 2015/16.
President: Richard Shean
Senior and Vice President: To be advised
Secretary/Communication: David Wyn-Mackenzie
Treasurer: Win Harvey
International Chair: Berenice Deakin
Foundation Chair: Peter Brown
Community Chair: Paul Whiteman
Vocational Chair: Paul Whiteman
District Council Representatives: Richard Shean and David Wyn-Mackenzie
Deputies: Berenice Deakin and Peter Brown
The following Honorary Members were confirmed:
Gerry Batten, Ron Homes, Roy Wykes, Mike Robinson and Tony Davies.
The full reports from the Chairs of the existing standing committees (which have been circulated) can be found on the proposed new section of the website hopefully in August/September.



Mayor of Shaftesbury

Mike Farrow & Win HarveyPicture shows President Mike Farrow congratulating Shaftesbury Rotarian Win Harvey Mayor of Shaftesbury on her successful and often eventful year in office.

Related Posts


Share This

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.